Oh The Iron(y)

If there is one chore I hate the most it would have to be ironing. Or dusting…. (But that’s a whole other topic.) Ironing. Bleh. Such a tedious task. We have cars that can assist us with parallel parking, phones that do more than we can ever imagine, and tons of other technologically advanced things and yet in the year 2014, we can’t make clothes that don’t need ironing. (Or dryers that iron and fold for us! Hah!) Sure I know there are “wrinkle free” clothes and I am SO thankful for them, but not all clothes are like that. Why? Why aren’t they all wrinkle free?! Who likes ironing?! Oh the ironing!

I have no idea why I’m writing about this today. I told my hubby I had writers block, and he says to me, “I thought you were a talker, not a writer.” (he’s a clever one!) so ok then, I have talkers block. Whatever that is. πŸ˜‰ I’m probably talking about this because I did just iron some shirts for the hubs. Side note, I hate that ironing board too. It’s like an awful jigsaw puzzle that you can’t solve (or at least I can’t!) The shirt never seems to fit on that top part and then if you do get it to fit, some part of the shirt is in a wrong position and then gets a nice wrinkle line in it. The wrinkle line that won’t come out. Oh joy. You might as well throw it back in the wash and start over.

Today, for once, everything was going along swimmingly. I even thought to myself, these actually look great! But if you know me, sometimes great isn’t good enough. I’m a perfectionist and often times that is my downfall. I should have just left the shirt alone, but nooooo, there was one little teeny tiny wrinkle near the collar (thank you stupid ironing board) that needed to be taken care of. So I decided to use the steam button to get the teeny weeny wrinkle out and then it happened. Somehow I ruined the shirt. How in the world does this happen?! I pushed the steam button and this white stuff comes (like snow!) spraying out onto his shirt leaving a lovely residue. Wonderful, isn’t it. I’m hoping it’ll come out in the wash, but I just spent all that time ironing and then in an instant it was ruined. Yes, that must be it. That’s why I hate ironing so much – because I’m so bad at it.

No one is perfect. Everyone is bad at something and everyone has off days. If you think otherwise, I hate to break it to you but it’s true. We try to be perfect or act like we have it all together, but we aren’t and we don’t. There is only one who is perfect and that’s Jesus! Boy would I love to get ironing lessons from him, he’s probably got it down pat! I’m thankfully reminded that when I fall short (WAY more often than not) I have a perfect savior that I can lean on and count on. Reflect and rejoice in this truth tonight: 1 Peter 2:22-24 β€œHe committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth.” When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly. β€œHe himself bore our sins” in his body on the cross, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; β€œby his wounds you have been healed.” Jesus, savior, perfection.

Blessings πŸ’› Sarah

2 thoughts on “Oh The Iron(y)

  1. That’s happened to me too….only the water in the iron was “rusty” and ruined the shirt! Don’t give up!! Keep ironing….you get better with experience. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.