Highlight(er) Difficulty

One YearPeppermint hot chocolate. Peppermint hot chocolate in my coffee, oh my my. I think this is my new favorite thing. This is a great start to my Monday.

I have one of those The One Year Bibles. If you don’t know what that is, it’s basically a reading plan to get you through the Bible in a year, and it’s all laid out for you. Everyday you read from the Old Testament, New Testament, a Psalm and a Proverb (or two). I’ve been doing it for a couple years now and I love it! Especially on those days when I sit down to read the word and I have no idea what to read, which (let’s be honest) is most days! Today’s reading was really good; James 1 and Psalm 116. I think I highlighted every line.

Highlighting. I LOVE to highlight. And yet I don’t think I’ve ever grasped the concept of it. Isn’t it just to emphasize (or remind us of) the important parts? Yah. Wellll, when I highlight it’s usually the whole section, chapter, or book! Hah! Even in high school I remember reading the text books and feeling the need to highlight EVERYTHING! I didn’t want to miss any of it! Then I would go back to see what the important parts were and the whole chapter was highlighted. Oh boy. Isn’t highlighting supposed to help?! I need to take a class on how to highlight. Maybe there’s a YouTube video on it? Tips? Something, anything! I need highlighting help! 🙈

Some things in life need highlighting, some things not so much. Things that make us feel happy and bring us joy, we want to highlight that. Things that bring us down or feel sadness, we often don’t want to highlight that. I’m not sure what you have going on in your life right now. Maybe things are going great – celebrate it, soak it up, pray and praise the Lord for that! Maybe you’re going through a difficult time and don’t really want to think about what you’re going through – journal, pray through it, and praise the Lord for it. What? Yes, praise the Lord for it. Praise the Lord for the good AND the bad! In everything give thanks. Everything. Not just some things, or things we think are worthy of praise and thanks, nope in e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g! Read 1 Thessalonians 5, you may just highlight the whole chapter, I think I have! Especially verses 16, 17, and 18. It says – Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus. (NLT) Some of the shortest verses in the bible (packed with so much power!) are some of the easiest verses to remember, highlight and give praises on! I challenge you to memorize those three verses this week and when you go through a time of highlighting – good or bad – highlight back on those truths!

Blessings 💛 Sarah

2 thoughts on “Highlight(er) Difficulty

  1. What if you tried using different color highlighters? You can vary the colors to a certain meaning…highlighters ARE fun!!! I must agree to give thanks in good times and bad…life is difficult at times with a mixture of good and bad times. A lot of times the bad times will turn or lead to something good… a blessing beyond our expectations!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good idea with using different colors! I had never thought of that!! 😄 And yes, I totally agree with your outlook – sometimes the bad turns into good! Or even things we thought were good (or we wanted) we learn that it’s better that we didn’t get that thing! 🙂 God always knows best!!

      Like

Comments are closed.