Joy, Joy, Joy!

JoyMy poor husband. I’ve had Christmas music on repeat since before Thanksgiving. Normally this wouldn’t be the case, but one of our very favorite bands (Rend Collective) came out with a Christmas album on the 17th. I can’t stop listening to it. It’s simply glorious! And since I already had one Christmas album blaring, I just HAD to put my other albums on and make a little Christmas mix. Probably the most random mix of artists and genres too. A little Rend, mixed with Patti Page, throw in some Bing Crosby, and a dash of The Carpenters and there you have it. My extremely random and quirky Christmas mix. If I could only find my 98 Degrees Christmas cd…. That would absolutely be added to the mix. I am not ashamed to say it, I loved, loved, LOVED those boys from 98 Degrees!! They were hunky and could sing so much better than the other boy bands (if you’re honest about it!) 😜. It’s probably a good thing I can’t find that cd because I think the hubs might just have something to say if I was constantly jamming out to that overly synthesized teenybopper poppy pop pop-ness.

If you couldn’t tell, I love music. Completely and utterly love it. You could even say borderline obsessed with music. Nothing can lift my spirits quite like a good song. And I mean good. I’m super particular and picky when it comes to music, almost like a music snob… Wait, make that a music connoisseur. There, that sounds better! πŸ˜‰ I’m glad (very much so) that there are an array of different styles of music too since there are some genres that I just can’t stand. Even instruments too. Like the harmonica… Eesh!! My ears hurt and I can feel a headache coming on just thinking about them. πŸ˜‰

Isn’t it so wonderful that our Lord and Savior isn’t a people snob like I’m a music snob? Liking us based on our style and how it makes us feel at a certain time; like we are with so many things in life. Jesus doesn’t care if we can sing, can’t sing, play an instrument or not, have platinum albums or don’t, are rich or poor, etc. (I think you get the idea). Jesus doesn’t just put up with us either, he loves us! So much!! Not based on anything we’ve done or will do either! Ephesians 2:8-9 says: God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God. Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. (NLT) I love that so much. I mess things up all the time, I’m not very talented, I’m not wealthy, or celebrity status, and I probably never will be. It’s nice to know that I don’t have to have that kind of status for Jesus to love me and have died for me. He loves us ordinary and the extraordinary celebrity peeps, all the same! That calls for a reason to celebrate, for us to be full of joy!! It says in Psalm 5:11 – But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you. (NIV) And in Psalm 126:3 – The Lord has done great things for us, and we are filled with joy. (NIV) Let’s have joy not only this holiday season and when the Christmas music stops, but all throughout the year!

To get you joy-ing, jam out and enjoy the Rend Collective song below.

Blessings πŸ’› Sarah

2 thoughts on “Joy, Joy, Joy!

  1. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE Christmas music too…..I keep Christmas CD’s in my car at all times….something so happy and joyful about Christmas. It seems people may be a tad happier this time of year??? My favorite song this year is from Aaron Shust “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”
    The best song!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.