A Storm’s A-Brewin’

We have a huge storm coming in the next few days and so what does that mean? Rain. Rain, rain, and even more rain! I really do love the rain, I’m one of “those” people. I love wearing my bright yellow rain boots and using my huge clear umbrella! Don’t get me wrong, I love the sunshine too, but there is just something so refreshing about the rain. I also love storms. Weather storms, not life storms. Nah, I don’t like those. You don’t know when they’re coming or how long they’ll stay. At least with weather storms (for the most part) the meteorologist can predict them so you have some sort of warning.

Life is very much like a storm. Sometimes it’s crazy and filled with tons of rain (when it rains it pours, right?!) and sometimes it can be calm and clear like right after a storm. Maybe today you’re in the midst of a storm or maybe one is on the horizon, but when the storms in life come (and we all know they will) where can we go for shelter? How can we be covered? Because unfortunately, my bright yellow boots and huge umbrella won’t provide me with protection then.

I love the Psalms. One of the best books in the Bible (I think) to read through when you’re going through a storm. It’s a book filled with praises and troubles, so very relatable. With all this talk about storms, it makes me so thankful for Psalm 91:4 (NIV). It says, “He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.” I simply love that. Where can we go to find covering? To Jesus! He’s right there in the storm with us, ready to cover us under his wings! To know that Jesus is always there and that he’s not going anywhere is so extremely comforting! He doesn’t leave us in the middle of the storm, the word promises that he will never leave us or forsake us (Joshua 1:5 NIV). Storms will come and storms will go but Jesus does not and I am forever thankful for that. Come to him in the storms (and the calm too 😊) and he will cover you! You will find refuge! Just like the word promises.

Blessings 💛 Sarah

2 thoughts on “A Storm’s A-Brewin’

Comments are closed.