It Was Love

LoveLove. It’s a funny word and with Valentine’s Day coming up we hear more about love now than ever. We say we love all kinds of things, things that have so many different levels of the word love. I love my husband, but I also love cupcakes. Do I love cupcakes more than my husband, absolutely not! I love puppies but I also love great music. Two totally different things that are on two totally different levels, but I love both. You get the idea, right? So when it comes the love of Christ it’s hard to grasp it. Me in my sinful nature – I love one thing, then I don’t. It changes with my mood or based on how it looks or even what it’ll do for me, it’s so erratic. God’s love however, is so far from erratic and I think that’s why I can’t fully grasp it. It blows my mind! It’s incredible! Never ending. Never changing. It’s not based on what I do or what I don’t do. It’s endless.

One of my favorite bands, Abandon, has a song that’s called “It Was Love” and I’ve been listening to it a lot lately. There’s a line in the chorus that goes, “It wasn’t nails that held You to the cross It was love.” When I first heard it, it was kind of like “oh that’s nice” and I didn’t really think much about it. Listening to it over and over again though, it’s now clicking. It really wasn’t nails that held Jesus to the cross, it was indeed love. Jesus, God in the flesh, creator of the universe, all powerful, omniscient, omnipresent, all…well, everything, could have without a doubt removed himself from the cross. He wouldn’t have needed help, he wouldn’t have had to wait until no one was looking, he could have done whatever, whenever. But he didn’t. He stayed nailed to that cross for love. Because of his undying, never ending love for me, for you, ALL of us! Jesus had me (and you) in mind when he was on the cross. He knew the sins I was going to commit and the transgressions I would do (yours too 😊) and yet he still went to the cross. And with joy! For the joy set before him he endured the cross (Hebrews 12:2 NIV) Wow. That’s all I can say, wow. It leaves me speechless! That’s true, real, love right there!

As Valentine’s Day comes and goes, don’t forget that God’s love will never go anywhere and it will never run out. It doesn’t come and go. He died for us and paid the ultimate price for us. That’s love. Lord help me to remember how much you really do love me.

Blessings 💛 Sarah

