Au Revoir Facebook, Hello Kindness!

KindnessI didn’t grow up observing Lent, but I’ve always been intrigued by giving something up for a period of time. So I decided this year I would give it a whirl and give up Facebook. How in the world will I get on with life? 😱 I don’t know, but I’m sure I’ll survive. 😉 I’ve noticed myself (especially recently) spending SO much time on Facebook, it was actually pretty pathetic. I would always get off and feel worse than I did before I got on. Seeing things people had that I didn’t, hearing about “exciting news” when my life is not so exciting right now, always hearing people say they are “blessed” when I feel like that word is thrown around so often and so often out of context. #blessed. Hashtag no. Just stop. Ugh. It was really getting on my nerves. I had to stop myself from reading comments on various posts too because people can just be SO mean! I always thought the “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all” motto was still in play, but I don’t think people agree. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, people get so bold and so tough behind a computer screen. They feel they are entitled to say whatever they want without thinking twice of who it may hurt and what they are actually saying. Sure we have freedom of speech and I think that’s a wonderful thing, but I don’t think we should be using it to tear others down! Add that to my list and you’re at about reason 24 of why I’m giving up Facebook for Lent.

I need kindness. I long for kindness. Call me crazy and say that I live in some sunshine, bubble gum, gumdrop kind of world but sheesh where has it gone?! Like for real. I know tough times come and hard things happen to us, but some of the meanest people are often the people who have the most.

I was reading an article/blog by Karen Ehman (love her!) and she has a “Reverese Lent Challenge” where rather than giving something up for Lent, you take something on. Such a brilliant idea that I’m doing both! I’m giving up Facebook and taking on kindness! I want to encourage others and build them up. No I don’t want to lie and sugarcoat things, but I want to express my opinions and my thoughts (even my advice) in a loving and kind way. Honest for sure, but kind about it. How in the world do I do that? I don’t know for certain, but I do know I’m going to start practicing thinking BEFORE I speak. So often I read something or hear this and that and I get fired up and want to shoot off at the mouth some snarky remark back or an “I’ll show them” attitude. No. Stop. 🙊 Kindness. Exuberate kindness. I know the saying is kinda cheesy but really, what would Jesus do? Would he really say what I’m about to say? Probably not. He’s the perfect example of kindness. He exuberates kindness! I want to be more like Jesus and so much less like me.

Colossians 3:12-14 says, “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” (NIV) BAM, right there, clothe yourselves with kindness. Put on love. Oh help me Father to do that.

What about you? Do you practice Lent? What would you give up for 47 (that’s how long it is this year) days? Comment below, I would love to hear your thoughts! Or feel free to jump in with me and take on this kindness challenge! Let’s make this the kindest 47 days yet!

Blessings 💛 Sarah

